Stampin’ Up! Graduation Card using Blue Ribbon and You Go Grad Stamps

LeggeGradCard1Hello again, welcome back! I’d like to introduce you to my guest blogger for today…my daughter Katie who is 19 years old and currently on her summer holiday break from University. Katie and I will both be posting on this blog regularly and we hope you enjoy our creations. Without further ado, here’s Katie…

Hello, today I am sharing a card with you that I made for my younger sister back in September to celebrate her Year 12 graduation.

LeggeGradCard

This was a card of firsts for me: my first hybrid card, my first tri-fold card and my first time using the Blue Ribbon stamp set. I wanted to create something extra-special for my sister as graduation is a pretty big deal and I wanted her card to reflect that. This was my reason for creating a tri-fold card as opposed to a regular-folding card: tri-fold cards just give that extra wow factor.

Card inside

Tri-Fold Card Inside

While looking through the collection of stamps Mum and I own in preparation for creating the graduation card, I was surprised to find that we did not own many graduation-related stamps (the only ones I could find were Blue Ribbon and Teeny Tiny Sentiments!!). Thankfully, My Digital Studio (MDS) has a whole stamp set devoted to Graduations: You Go Grad (pictured below).

MDS to the rescue! You Go Grad Stamp Brush Set.

MDS to the rescue! You Go Grad Stamp Brush Set.

I love the versatility of MDS and all the extra stamps and features it offers. For the inside of the card I have used the congradulations, congrats grad and you did it stamps, printed in black ink on Whisper White cardstock. To embellish the inside I added rhinestones to the curls of the congrats grad stamp and used silver and red glimmer paper to cover the adjacent panels. For the Class of 2013 and sentiment panels, I have also used MDS (love it!). The poem is from Oh, The Places You Will Go! by Dr Seuss which is an awesome book and quite fitting for the occasion.

After creating this graduation card, I have a few helpful tips:

  1. Use the graduate’s school colours as inspiration for your card. My colour scheme was based on the colours of my sister’s school: red, black and white. You could also incorporate the school logo, motto or mascot into the theme/card.
  2. Create something extra-special that the graduate will treasure. I chose to do a tri-fold card for this reason, and made it very blingy and glittery. It may be difficult to see in the pictures, but this card definitely sparkles!
  3. Give MDS a go. The You Go Grad stamp brush set is PERFECT for graduation cards and it comes with the software so you don’t have to buy it separately. There are also a heap of other graduation and school related downloads in MDS. Check them out here.

Thank you so much for looking at my card, I hope you like it! To see the supply list scroll down, and to purchase any of the items I used for this card click the ‘shop’ link at the top of this page and enter the codes listed in the supply list.

Stay tuned for more crafty projects on this blog, I will (if everything goes to plan) be posting everyday this week!

Rachel and Katie xx

——-

Supply list:

  • Basic Black cardstock #121688
  • Whisper White Cardstock #106549
  • Real Red Cardstock #106578
  • Red Glimmer Paper #121790
  • Silver Glimmer Paper #124005
  • Rhinestone Basic Jewels #119246
  • Blue Ribbon Stamp Set Wood #131964, Clear #125981
  • Real Red Classic Ink Pad #126949
  • Basic Black Classic Ink Pad #126980
  • Argyle Textured Impressions Embossing Folder #127750
  • You Go Grad Stamp Brush Set
  • 1-3/8” (3.5cm) circle punch #119860
  • 3rd smallest circle from Circle Collection Framelits #130911
  • 2-3/8” (6cm) circle pumch #119874
  • Real Red marker #100052 (I used this to colour around the edge of the scallop circle to blend in with the red image)
  • Stampin’ Dimensionals #104430 (to layer the punch images of the ribbon)

One thought on “Stampin’ Up! Graduation Card using Blue Ribbon and You Go Grad Stamps

Leave a comment