Love You 8-bit Heart Card

bloghightlightbanner

Hello crafters, Katie here. Today’s card is part of the international blog highlight for Stampin’ Up!® Demonstrators around the world, organised by awesome Aussie demo Kylie Bertucci. The theme for the blog highlight is ‘love‘ whether that be wedding, anniversary, baby, romance, friend/family etc.

One of the awesome things about this highlight is you can VOTE for your favourite five cards and the top five demonstrators whose cards had the most votes get to take part in an international blog hop with Kylie and other talented, successful demonstrators. How fun! I would love if you could to vote for my card, just click the heart ❤ in the top right hand side of the picture at Kylie’s blog, linked above 🙂

My card was made for my sister, who loves video games, and will soon be jetting off to the UK for a month-long holiday (and is adamant I won’t fit in her suitcase, boo!). In our family we have a little tradition, whenever someone goes on holiday overseas the night before they leave we hide a letter somewhere in their bag…usually in a shoe or toiletry case which won’t be opened/used until they arrive at their destination. The letter is like a little piece of home, where we let our family member know we love and miss them and hope they have a good time. Whenever that person is feeling a little homesick they can read the letter and know they’re loved.

Anyway, back to the card! This card was made with Sally and her upcoming trip in mind. Though the card is clean and simple (not my usual style), it did take a little while to put together as the heart is made up of individual squares of cardstock to represent pixels, in keeping with the gaming concept.image

 

To plan the heart, I used one of the 3×4″ Project Life grid cards and Stampin’ Write markers to roughly draw up the heart and decide which colours would go where.

image

Then, I…ahem, I mean the Silhouette Cameo… cut out the 5mm squares in black, white, Real Red and Cherry Cobbler cardstock. Using my grid card heart as a reference, I stuck the individual squares to a base of Real Red, starting with the centre column and working my way out from there. I used 2-way glue to stick the squares, so I would have time to reposition them if needed before they permanently adhered. When I had stuck the last square down, I trimmed down the Real Red base and stuck this to my card front.

image

The sentiment comes from the Crazy About You stamp set which has heaps of great phrases you can mix and match to create a variety of sentiments. I embossed the words ‘love’ and ‘you’ in white on black cardstock and ‘so much’ for the inside of the card.

image

I hope you like the card I shared today, be sure to stop by Kylie’s blog highlight and vote for your favourite cards. I would love it if you could please vote for me 🙂

Thanks for stopping by,
Rachel and Katie xx

9 thoughts on “Love You 8-bit Heart Card

  1. What a fun way to make a heart! I might have to tuck this idea away for my son… unfortunately I don’t have a machine to cut for me so that part might be a little tricky! Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you so much for your comment, I’m glad you like the 8-bit heart idea. Yepp, I’m pretty lucky to have a machine 🙂 Hmm, maybe try cutting larger squares, to make it a little easier to cut with a trimmer? Another alternative could be to colour in one of the Project Life grid cards (though not messy like mine 😛 ) and trim that our with scissors.

  2. LOVE this card so much! The teenage soon of one of my friends is very much into Minecraft doing a balloon or gift package like this would be perfect for his birthday card this year. I just have to add how much I love the tradition your family has of tucking away something in the luggage. Brilliant idea!

Leave a Reply

