May The 4th Be With You

Hello crafty friends! Happy (unofficial) Star Wars Day! Today I am sharing a Star Wars card I made wayyyyy back in early January for a friend’s birthday but have *patiently* (lol NOT) waited until today – “Star Wars Day” (May 4th) – to share it with you. The title is so perfect/punny… I didn’t want to pass up the opportunity to write it 😉 For those who have not seen Star Wars, “May the Force be with you” is a popular saying in the movies/franchise and sounds quite similar to May the 4th, hence today’s date being chosen as Star Wars Day. As I mentioned earlier, this card was made for a friend, who happens to be a big Star Wars fan, and features the popular character Yoda, a small, green Jedi Master of unknown species and origin. Apologies for the quality of the photos – I had to hastily take pictures of the card before rushing out the door to head to the party (which I was then late for – oops!).

Star Wars Yoda card by Katie Legge, https://rachelleggestampinup.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/may-the-4th-be-with-you/

To create the star/space background I have used the ‘salt background technique’. Not only is this technique fun and effective, it’s easy too! Just sprinkle regular table salt on Whisper White cardstock, run it through the Big Shot and wipe all the salt off. Then, brayer whatever colour ink you want over the whole piece of cardstock; black or dark blue ink works well and looks good, for this card I have used Basic Black ink. The white spots (or stars) are the areas where the salt has indented the cardstock, leaving an uneven and textured surface so the ink misses these spots when you brayer, creating what looks like stars. A very clever and very effective technique. This technique would also look good on other space theme and night time scene cards…hmmm I think I will have to have a play in the July holidays and create some more cards with this technique 😀

Star Wars Yoda card by Katie Legge, https://rachelleggestampinup.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/may-the-4th-be-with-you/

To create the Yoda head I used a number of Stampin Up! punches combined with handcutting. The wrinkles on the forehead and eyebrows were created with…believe it or not…the Northern Flurry embossing folder! Who would have thought that snowflakes create the best wrinkles! It’s a little hard to see but I even added wrinkles under the eyes, on the mouth, nose and cheeks, using the stylus that comes with the Simply Scored.

For the ear hair I snipped a tiny fringe from a small piece of a tissue (don’t worry, it was clean/unused! LOL) and arranged the “hair” before adhering it between the ears and face.

The sentiment was computer generated and printed on Whisper White. I have attached a document (Stampin Up Star Wars Card Extras – Katie Legge) with the sentiment for you to download if you wish. I downloaded the font for free here. I wanted the sentiment to sound like Yoda had said it, hence the odd way of saying Happy Birthday. The sentiment on the inside also continued the Star Wars theme, echoing the famous line from the opening credits: “A long time ago, in a galaxy far, far away…”

Star Wars Yoda card by Katie Legge, https://rachelleggestampinup.wordpress.com/2014/05/04/may-the-4th-be-with-you/

The light saber (in good-guy green) was made using vellum, coloured green with a sponge dauber. For the handle, I’ve used Basic Black cardstock and Silver Foil Paper, scored with the back (non-cutting side) of a scalpel/craft knife.

I hope you like this card, I might create a video on how to create the Yoda/salt background in the holidays, depending on interest/demand. I would love it if you leave me a comment to let me know what you think of this card 🙂

Katie and Rachel xx
P.S. Convention in less than a month and the new catalogue is not far away either! Yippee!!! Can you tell we’re excited? 😉

10 thoughts on “May The 4th Be With You

  1. I love this card. So clever and cute (can I say cute when talking about Star Wars?). I would love to see a tutorial. You did an amazing job of all the aspects of this card! What a lucky friend 🙂

    • Thank you Tracy! Haha, I guess you can say cute when talking about Star Wars 😛 Ok, I will try to work on a tutorial in the holidays… I will let you know when I have completed it. Thank you for your lovely comment. Katie.

  2. Definitely do a video. 🙂 I cased your card this morning for my Sister in Law who is a HUGE star wars fan. I’m sure she’s going to love it. I did my best from looking at your photos but a video would be perfect. 🙂

    • Hi Louise, I hope to create a video tutorial for the Yoda punch art in the upcoming uni holidays (July) and will post it here on this blog when I do.
      Awesome, I would love to see your version of the card that you created for your sister 🙂

  3. This card is so cute. I had to try it for my grandson’s 5th birthday once he picked Yoda for his theme. Have to say this is way above my ability level. So did okay, but certainly not as cute as yours. Thanks you so much for the inspiration. Would love to see the tutorial, especially for the mouth and nose.. Mine is a cross between a Yoda and a goat.

Leave a Reply

